EU virus finalizes safe list, 'US unlikely to cut'

BRUSSELS  With fewer coronavirus cases in the US, the European Union is headed to finalize a list of countries where citizens will be allowed to enter Europe in the coming days.

The Spanish Foreign Minister is on the list - expected to be disclosed on Tuesday - and citizens from 15 countries and non-members of the European Union will be allowed to travel by July 1.

European Union ambassadors in Brussels over the weekend worked to reduce the exact criteria for joining countries, mostly focusing on their ability to manage the spread of the disease. Importantly, countries are expected to relinquish travel restrictions on European citizens.

The number of confirmed cases in the United States is higher than last week, and President Donald Trump, in order in March, withheld public access from Europe's ID check-free travel zone, making it less likely for U.S. citizens to qualify.

Transition rates are very high in Brazil, Russia, and India and are unlikely to reduce their citizens.

Spanish Foreign Minister Arancha Gonzalez Lia said the European Union is considering a ban on travelers from China to European citizens. Morocco is another possibility, although its government does not plan to open the borders until July 10.

He said he was unaware of the US pressure to reopen its citizens' journey to the European Union, and that countries were selected according to their coronavirus statistics - the same as in the European Union - or the trend of the epidemic and how reliable their data was.

"It's not a practice of being nice or friendly in other countries. It's a practice of self-responsibility," she told Spain's Cadena SER radio on Monday.

The Safe Country List is reviewed every 14 days, depending on how the outbreak of the disease is managed, new countries added, and some potentially left behind.

It is estimated that more than 15 million Americans travel to Europe annually, and any delay will be another setback for virus-protected economies and tourism on both sides of the Atlantic. About 10 million Europeans are expected to cross the Atlantic each year for holidays and business.

The 27 EU countries and four other countries that form part of Europe's "Schengen Area" - an alliance of 26 countries where goods and people can go free without documents - will reopen the borders with each other from Wednesday.

Given the green light, sanctions for potential travel to Europe from the outside world, imposed in March, will gradually increase to prevent new virus cases from registering. Will

Post a Comment