The European Union says it will stop Americans when it reopens on July 1 for international visitors

The European Council announced on Tuesday that it would not allow Americans to travel to European Union countries when the European Council opened for European visitors.

Travelers from 14 countries, including Canada, South Korea, and Australia, will be welcomed into the European Union.

But in the US and many other countries, people are considered very dangerous due to coronavirus cases in their home countries. The council's statement said it would allow Chinese travelers to travel if the country's government ratified the mutual declaration policy.

According to Johns Hopkins data, the United States is leading the world in coronavirus cases with approximately 2.7 million infections as of June 30.

To determine whether epidemiological travel restrictions are based on epidemiological status and preventive measures in each country, the council said that it includes physical and social considerations.

Tuesday's decree does not apply to travel in Britain leaving the European Union in January. The UK now requires all travelers to enter a self-imposed 14-day quarantine - with the exception of a few exceptions, such as truck drivers, but the measure is under review and relaxation is likely in the coming weeks. This requirement applies to U.S. citizens as well.

EU officials have decided to allow visitors from countries to prevent the spread of the virus within their borders by observing new infections, testing capabilities, contact tracing, and other stage trends, said Caspar Juthen, senior media adviser to one of the EU's representatives. He told USA Today.

First memory: "The state of epidemiology in a country ... is as good or better than the European Union," he said.

According to European Union data, there are 1.5 million coronavirus cases as of June 30, in blocks including the European Economic Area and the United Kingdom.

The European Union's executive arm, Adalbert Jahnz, a spokesman for the European Commission in Brussels, told USA TODAY this week that the lists will be reviewed every two weeks as new information about coronavirus trends emerges in different countries.

Zahnaz stressed that the European Union did not make "political decisions" on what countries should be allowed to travel in the 27-member bloc. President Donald Trump banned travel to Europe from European countries in mid-March. EU leaders at the time condemned Trump's decision, which was taken "without consultation" from the European Union.

"It's not about politics, it's about public health," said Janz.

On June 15, most Europeans fired border checks, which were complicated, patchwork of different regulations, and not everyone was equally free to travel everywhere.

'So Thanks to Back': Europe's first locksmith in Italy is slowly reopening, welcoming tourists

The State Department and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention are currently advising against international travel, though U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said the Foreign Ministry is working with US Homeland Security and Transportation officials on plans to bring back "global travel." "

The latest figures are available in the first 10 months of 2019, according to the U.S. Department of Commerce's Office of National Travel and Tourism, which showed an increase of 7.3% to 16.6 million U.S. citizens in the same period in 2018. Europe is the second most popular international travel destination after Mexico, one of five trips. It is the most popular overseas destination, with a variance of over 40%. The Caribbean ranks second, with 7.8 million U.S. citizens arriving in the first 10 months of 2019.

Post a Comment