The US ignores the EU list of countries that are exempt from virus travel bans

Under a draft vote of the member states, the US failed to do so to prevent the EU from going outside the coronavirus ban.

Residents of a maximum of 15 countries, including China, Japan, South Korea, Canada, and Australia, are welcomed into the European Union, and Schengen will be the most common travel destination since July 1, if the proposal is approved on Tuesday.

The US is excluded by the rest of the world, including published epidemic infection rates, and these are now more or less the 27 countries in the European Union. Washington retained the ban imposed in March
 Visitors to Ireland and the 26-country Schengen Area, including 22 EU member states.

The decorative objection of this list is in EU capitals, including Algeria, Georgia, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay. China will only be added if the EU removes its ban on travelers.

European diplomats have never been considered a US waiver candidate, as spikes in many states, last week have increased its infection rate. Officials said the decision was based on epidemiology, and the ban would not be lifted for a large number of other countries.

"America is beyond the limits," said one diplomat. "And remember, the US is not open to EU citizens."

US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said last week that the US is working with European countries to find "the right way, the right time and the right strategy". He said the US "did not want to cause problems elsewhere."

The US Embassy of the European Union said on Monday: "We appreciate the transparency and collective efforts of our European allies and allies and are committed to combating this epidemic and coordinating with them as we expand our economies. Relaxing the limits."

In view of the uncertainties created by factors such as insufficient testing, bureaucratic manipulation, and sudden dissemination, the EU listing practice has generated sufficient internal arguments. The debate has further opened up tensions between European countries, including the reopening of the reopened startup and others are also desperate to revive their tourism industries for major Northern Hemisphere summer holidays.

The result is a downgraded list and it requires a "maximum", meaning that individual countries are free to make it smaller or to maintain an existing blanket ban. The practice is also only a recommendation, so member states can choose to go to more than one list - if they are willing to risk political downfall by doing so.

The impact of the list may be more limited by some countries, such as Japan, which travels through restrictions, such as restrictive requirements on travelers returning from Europe.

The European Union and Schengen have also begun to fully re-open their borders to travel to each other, even as the European Commission pushes them to do so.

Post a Comment