MLB agrees to a playoff extension for the Players' Union 2020

LB agrees to a playoff extension for the Players' Union 2020

The Major League Baseball and MLB Players' Association on Thursday agreed to expand the playoffs from 10 teams to 16 teams for the 2020 season.

Commissioner Rob Manfred announced the expansion in a statement, "This season will be a sprint to a new format that will allow more fans to experience playoff baseball." "We look forward to a memorable post-season at the end of the year like nothing else."

The teams that finished second in each of the six divisions now qualify for the playoffs. The seventh and eighth playoff teams in each league are determined by the best record.

The first round playoffs will take place on September 29-October. 2, each league consists of a series of four to three matches, all games played at the High League's domestic stadium. The remaining rounds are long in their tradition: each league consists of a two-division series five-game series, the American League and National League Championship Series and the World Series a seven-game series.

MLBPA Executive Director Tony Clark said in a statement, "We hope this will be a very competitive Penet Race as well as for the benefit of the industry and to have exciting additional playoff games throughout the coming year."

Thursday's deal also came as a surprise: luxury tax collection will be discontinued this year, with a man familiar with the details speaking to the Associated Press and making no statement on the anonymous situation.

The playoff expansion plan was previously part of the MLB's proposal, with the union seeking to restart the season and make a league statement before the end of negotiations. Posts expanded in 2012.

In each league, the division winners are seeded 1-3, the second-placed teams 4-6, and the next two best 7-8. The first round pairing was 1 vs. 8, 2-7, 3-6, and 4-5, Manfred said.

The tiebreaker games end, breaking the head-to-head record, followed by a better record in the team division and a record within the division in the last 20 games. If there is still a tie, the standard is the last 21 games in a division, then 22, and so on.

Games can end a normal season with different games; The regular-season is postponed at Manfred's discretion.

ESPN was given the broadcasting rights for seven of the eight rounds of the first round, and TBS was not paid extra for make-up for missed games. ESPN and TBS split the two wild-card games into the original format.

Players will receive a pool of 50 million, which will be distributed after each round and will increase if fans are allowed in the stadiums for the postman.

An important aspect for ESPN players during the playoffs is the player and family housing and entry into the stadium.

This change means that 53% of the 30 teams will advance to the playoffs. According to Elias Sports Bureau research, if five teams qualified for the playoffs in each league from 1995 to 2019, 500 teams would make it. Those teams include 25 from AL.

All playoff teams have only three seasons to win records, Elias said: 2000, 2003 and 2009.

According to ESPN statistics and data research, eight teams in each league in the last 10 seasons in 2012 or more.500.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Post a Comment