The American and Baltic states opposed Russian 'rewriting history'

The American and Baltic states opposed Russian 'rewriting history'

Vilnius (Reuters) - The United States on Thursday joined Lithuania, Latvia, and Estonia in protesting the rewriting of Russian efforts by President Vladimir Putin after the Baltic states agreed to their relationship with the Soviet Union in 1940.

U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompey wrote in a joint statement with three Baltic foreign ministers that "we stand by any attempt by Russia to rewrite history in the 1940s to justify the occupation and occupation of the" huh "countries of the Baltic states."

The joint statement commemorated the 80th anniversary of the 1940 Declaration, and the then US Secretary of State Sumer Wells condemned the Soviet occupation of the three countries.

Putin wrote last month that the inclusion of Lithuania, Latvia, and Estonia in the Soviet Union was implemented "on the basis of an agreement with the consent of elected officials."

"It was in line with international and state law at the time," he told the American magazine The National Interest.

The European Union and NATO have accused Russia of misleading Russia into destabilizing the West by exploiting differences in society. Russia has condemned such a tactic.

The European Commission has said it will not tolerate distortion of historical facts after Putin suggested in January that Sharin share responsibility for starting World War II, as he was involved in Nazi German plans to overthrow Czechoslovakia in 1938.

Polish President Andrzej Duda has accused Putin of "historic lies".

In 1989, under the auspices of Soviet leader Mikhail Gorbachev, during Glasnost or Open Time, Moscow condemned the 1939 secret Soviet-Nazi agreement to engrave the Baltic states, which allowed Poland and the Soviet Union to dissolve the region.

Lithuania, Estonia, and Latvia all gained independence from the Soviet Union because it was a member of both the European Union and NATO.

Post a Comment